Sigh

So I went to see my dentist again for the 100th time these past few months. All I can say is, I don’t get it. I take care of my teeth meticulously and I keep finding myself in pain with only a few days relief in between. First it was the swollen gums that came out of nowhere. I went to two dentists who both confirmed that it was not gingivitis but either a viral infection or related to my immune system.

After the swollen gums it was this horrible wisdom tooth ache on the two teeth that I left to get removed in June. It felt just like a dental abscess and was really painful. But even that wasn’t as painful as this new pain that came on the left side of my mouth.

I started feeling a throbbing pain on that side and went to see my dentist. They took an xray and then she said she saw an area near the tooth I had retreated twice. I had a bad root canal done when I was a kid and then I had to have it redone. It was not cheap. So I’m seeing the endodontist who worked on it tomorrow and if it turns out that the retreatment failed I’m going to cry. Because that means that I’ll have to get it extracted and get a dental implant.

I’m seeing this affect my relationships too. People get tired of hearing about your health problems. I’m just exhausted and I feel like I’m at the end of my rope. I took Audit yesterday for the CPA exam and although I finished early, I had a toothache for half of it even with the amoxicillin.

I’m okay with putting in long hours and having a lot of deadlines and etc. I’m not okay with being in chronic pain. These random health things have been happening since January so yes, it’s pretty much chronic by now except the fun thing is that it’s random things happening.

To put it shortly, I’m seeing my endodontist tomorrow morning and after that I’m getting my wisdom teeth extracted. I really just don’t see where this can go anymore. I feel confused because I don’t know why this is happening to me. I’ve never dealt with something like this before. Before this started happening, I rarely if ever got sick and was always in great shape and health. Now, I haven’t exercised for over a month and I’m really feeling it.

Thankfully I have a close friend who’s been there for me and an encouragement all this time. I’m hoping everything will be okay. I just want to feel normal again. I really, really do.

Leave a Reply

