Going to Church!!

I went to church today for the first time in a long time. It was a positive experience. The church is located in this really nice building and the walk to get to the sermon was scenic and refreshing. The weather was also really nice today too. I really liked the message as the pastor said something that touched my heart. Basically, that in order to have wisdom, it’s important to focus on God and to engage with Jesus so we  can put things in the right perspective. I wrote and underlined the words Right Perspective in my notebook.

In all the things that have happened lately, it is more essential for me than ever to have the Right Perspective and to see everything that happens for what it is. When I was in pain again, I finally asked God, “What’s the deal, Lord? I thought You said I would be healed by now…”

And then I opened to a random page in my Bible and there it was. Job 39. Where God is showing Job just how little he really knows. Where God is reminding Job that even when things don’t seem to make a lick of sense, He is still in control.

And well, that’s what’s happening here. My perspective is “Yes, life isn’t perfect. But God is in control and there’s a reason why everything is happening. This isn’t purposeless.”

After the message, I went ahead and met some of the members of the church who were very friendly. There’s actually quite a few accountants in the congregation. I met someone who works at KPMG and there’s also another who used to work at the firm I’ll be staring with.

I realized though that I felt really nervous for some reason. During worship, I looked up and around and realized, “Oh my gosh. I don’t know anyone here. I’m totally alone ;_;.” It’s been a long time since I felt this type of nervousness :/. Maybe it’s because everyone pretty much already knows each other.

Regardless, they were easy to talk to and it was a good experience. I’m grateful to the Lord. I came in with an open mind and overall it was pretty good. The thing is though that I realized that I need to work on my communication skills. It’s weird to say because I’m known for being a strong communicator and a good public speaker but a.) I haven’t been going out in literally months and b.) I’ve always somewhat struggled with group conversations.

So… I guess these are things that I need to work on. However, I’m keeping everything in the Right Perspective. I’m doing my best, anyway, to trust in God. And here’s to hoping that He’ll reward it.

~~

On a random note, we had a rowdy customer a few days ago who refused to pay his balance due before we delivered his product. He said to my mom, “I’m going to write you a blistering review on Yelp! Good luck staying open in the future!”

This prompted me to look up our Yelp page. There was this one customer who took a picture of our driver and put it on Yelp and left a huge 1-star review. I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was removed for “violating the terms of service”. God is good :).

Leave a Reply

